St. X Fires Final-Round 302 To Claim GCL South Title


Posted 9/23/2015 at 10:19 a.m.

Bombers’ McCarthy Shoots 2-Over 74 To Earn Medalist Honors

St. Xavier’s Joey McCarthy fired a low round of 2-over 74, and teammates Cameron Frazier and Kirran Magowan each shot 75s Monday, to help the Bombers post a team score of 302 in the second and final round of play in the Greater Catholic League South Golf Championships held at Weatherwax  Golf Course in Middletown – earning St. Xavier the league championship after 72 holes of competition between the four schools.

Coach Alex Kepley’s team finished with a total of 1214 shots, 28 fewer than runner-up and defending GCL South champion Moeller’s 1242 as a team.  La Salle placed third with 1261 total shots, followed by Elder with a total of 1285 shots.  La Salle finished second in Monday’s final round at Weatherwax, with a team score of 315, followed by Moeller at 319 and Elder with a 322.

League golfers played nine holes each on the Highlands and  Woodside courses at Weatherwax, totaling 36 holes Sunday and Monday in the culminating two-day, 36-hole GCL South Championships.  Over the last month, each school hosted a 9-hole quad at its respective home courses, Clovernook, Western Hills, Hyde Park and Kenwood, with the scores from all 72 holes added together to determine the league champion.

Jake Fox of Moeller and Michael Prebles of St. Xavier had the lowest 72-hole scoring average, at 38.25 and 38.63, respectively.  Frazier, who played the final 54 holes of GCL competition, finished with a league-best 37.67 average.  Frazier, who finished with an 80-75—155 in the championship, was named the GCL South Golfer of the Year.  Kepley was named the GCL South Coach of the Year.

Here is a look at the golfers named All-GCL South:

Will Efkeman (La Salle), Jake Fox (Moeller), Cameron Frazier (St. Xavier), Michael O’Brien (Moeller), Zachary Pavlin (St. Xavier), Michael Prebles (St. Xavier).

Mark Burger (Elder), Justin Heflin (La Salle), Brady Heidemann (La Salle), Domenic Maricocchi (St. Xavier), Stone McCall (Moeller), Patrick Miller (La Salle).

GOLFER OF THE YEAR – Cameron Frazier