All-GCL South Swimming & Diving Team Announced


Posted on 2/16/2016 at 11:41 a.m.

Moeller’s Hodge Earns Top Swimmer Honor, St. X’s Beerman Top Coach

Moeller senior Cooper Hodge won two individual events, the 200 Individual Medley and 100 Breaststroke, and swam the final leg of the Crusaders’ winning 200 Freestyle Relay team at the Greater Catholic League Swimming & Diving Championships held earlier this month at Keating Natatorium on the St. Xavier High School campus to earn GCL South Swimmer of the Year honors for his performance.

St. Xavier’s Tim Beerman, whose team captured GCL South championship No. 68 overall and has now won the meet for 53 consecutive years, was named GCL South Coach of the Year.  Beerman is in his first season as the AquaBombers’ head varsity coach after spending the previous year as an assistant to longtime St. Xavier coach Jim Brower.  He previously coached at both St. Xavier and Ursuline Academy.

Here is the 2015-16 All-GCL South Swimming & Diving Team:

200 Medley Relay – St. Xavier (David Limbert, Jonathan Bernard, Brian Robertson, Oscar Van Nort); 200 Freestyle – Will Schwieterman (St. Xavier); 200 Individual Medley – Cooper Hodge (Moeller); 50 Freestyle – Oscar Van Nort (St. Xavier); 100 Freestyle – Nicholas Czepukaitis (St. Xavier); 500 Freestyle – Will Schwieterman (St. Xavier);  200 Freestyle Relay – Moeller (Will McCullough, Justin Davidson, Jacob Peloquin, Cooper Hodge); 100 Backstroke – Jared Watson  (St. Xavier); 100 Breaststroke – Cooper Hodge (Moeller); 400 Freestyle Relay – St. Xavier (Brian Robertson, Jared Watson, Nicholas Czepukaitis, Will Schwieterman); 1-Meter Diving – Drew Fitzgerald (St. Xavier).

200 Medley Relay – Moeller (Jacob Peloquin, Cooper Hodge, Sebastian Fabik, Will McCullough); 200 Freestyle – Jared Watson (St. Xavier); 200 Individual Medley – Will Spaeth (St. Xavier); 50 Freestyle – Will McCullough (Moeller); 100 Freestyle – Oscar Van Nort (St. Xavier); 500 Freestyle – Sam Fallon (St. Xavier);  200 Freestyle Relay – St. Xavier (Brian Robertson, Michael Buescher, John Paul Khouzam, Oscar Van Nor); 100 Backstroke – Jacob Peloquin (Moeller); 100 Breaststroke – Will Spaeth (St. Xavier); 400 Freestyle Relay – Moeller (Austin Theobald, Dan Nymberg, Justin Davidson, Sebastian Fabik); 1-Meter Diving – Jake Knapke (St. Xavier).

Wednesday:  All-GCL South Wrestling Team announced.