All-GCL South Wrestling Team Announced


Posted on 2/17/2016 at 9:28 a.m.

Moeller’s Jacoby Ward Top Wrestler, Elder’s Roush Named Coach of Year

Moeller’s Jacoby Ward, a three-time state placer who is wrestling at 152 pounds this season, has been named the Greater Catholic League South Division Wrestler of Year thanks to an outstanding senior resume that includes winning the Catholic Invitational Tournament for the first time and capturing a different weight class for the third time in four years at the GCL Wrestling Championships.

This also is the third season that Ward has been named first-team All-GCL South, earning that honor previously as a freshman wrestling at 120 pounds and then last season, as a junior, at 138 pounds.  Ward, making the jump two weight classes to 152 this season, won three matches in the GCL Wrestling Championships – two by pin and one by technical fall – to earn the title in his new weight class.

Elder’s Jason Roush, whose team captured its first GCL South championship since 1990 and also was one of eight teams to advance to the Ohio High School Athletic Association State Wrestling Dual Tournament in Columbus, was named GCL South Coach of the Year.  The Panthers finished atop 11 other GCL schools in the league tournament, just days after defeated GCL South rival Moeller in the Dual Region 8 final.

Here is the 2015-16 All-GCL South Wrestling Team:

106 pounds – Lucas Byrd (La Salle); 113 – Jordan Ward (Moeller); 120 – Jared Thiemann (La Salle); 126 – Austin Murphy (Elder); 132 – Corey Shie (La Salle); 138 – Jake Thompson (Moeller); 145 – Samuel Williams (Elder); 152 – Jacoby Ward (Moeller); 160 – Blake Wilson (La Salle); 170 – Ti’Ric Evans (Elder); 182 – Sam Wyche (Moeller); 195 – Trevor Hankins (Moeller); 220 – Jack Meyer (Moeller); 285 – Joe Hensley (Moeller).

106 pounds – Trace Jones (Elder); 113 – D.J. Melillo (Elder); 120 – Chucky Lipps (Elder); 126 – Nick Falke (St. Xavier); 132 – Nino Salamone (Elder); 138 – Jake Meridieth (Elder); 145 – Nick Damico (St. Xavier); 152 – Connor Yauss (St. Xavier); 160 – Robby Oswald (Elder); 170 – Jack Heyob (St. Xavier); 182 – Antonio McCloud (Elder); 195 – Paul Hulefeld (St. Xavier); 220 – Nick Gerbus (St. Xavier); 285 – Alec Moore-Nash (Elder).

Thursday:  All-GCL South Basketball Team announced.