St. Xavier Sets New Mark In Winning State Swimming


Posted 2/26/2017 at 11:42 a.m.

AquaBomber Grant House Becomes State’s Most Decorated Swimmer

Another year, another record-setting performance by the St. Xavier AquaBombers at the Ohio High School Athletic Association Division I State Swimming & Diving Championships that concluded Saturday at C.T. Branin Natatorium in Canton.  St. Xavier, vying for state championship No. 38 since winning its first title in the 1969-70 season, eclipsed the meet points record of 398 it set last year, by finishing with 434 points to win the school’s ninth consecutive team crown.  The AquaBombers also have won 17 of the last 18 Division I state meets.

Greater Catholic League South Division colleague Moeller turned in a top 10 finish, posting a team score of 71 points to finish ninth in the 52-school Division I field.

Coach Tim Beerman’s AquaBombers were led by senior Grant House, who finished first in four events to become the most decorated swimmer in OHSAA state meet history by earning 13 gold medals during his four-year varsity career.  Just how dominant was House?  He winds up his career by going 8-0 in individual events and posting a 5-0 record as a member of St. Xavier relay teams.  House became the first AquaBomber to be undefeated in individual events at the state meet.

Saturday, besides winning the 200 freestyle (in a meet and state record time of 1:34.59) and swimming on the AquaBomber winning and record-setting teams in the 200 and 400 freestyle relays, House set the school, pool and state meet records in the 500 freestyle, finishing in a time of 4:19.15.  The state meet record had stood for 10 years, while the pool record had not been eclipsed for four decades.  House was named Division I Swimmer of the Year, while Beerman was Named Coach of the Year.

St. Xavier took first in all three relay events – the 200 Medley (Justin Grender, Charles Leibson, Luke Sobolewski and Nicholas Perera), with a meet and state record time of 1:29.66; the 200 Freestyle (Perera, Leibson, Grender and House), with a meet and state record time of 1:21.44; and the 400 Freestyle (House, Perera, Sobolewski and Grender), with a meet and state record time of 2:58.13.

AquaBomber individual winners besides House were Perera (200 Individual Medley, 1:48.74), with Leibson coming in second; and Sobolewski in the 100 Butterfly (48.30) and 100 Backstroke (48.23) events.

Cleveland St. Ignatius was second, finishing with 173 points.  The championship was team title No. 54 for St. Xavier, tying the Bombers with Lakewood St. Edward for 54 team state championships and the most in OHSAA history.  The Bombers also won the state football title in December, which was the school’s third state football championship – also having won in 2005 and 2007.