State Champs Highlight Impressive Wrestling Team


Posted on 3/14/2018 at 8:15 a.m.

GCL  South Division Announces 2017-18 All-League Performers

Three individual state champions from last weekend’s Ohio High School Athletic Association Division I State Wrestling Championships in Columbus highlight the impressive list of wrestlers comprising the 2017-18 Greater Catholic South Division All-League Teams.  Sharing first-team honors and recognition as the GCL South Wrestlers of the Year are Lucas Byrd of La Salle, state champion at 113 pounds; Antonio McCloud of Elder, state champ at 220; and Moller’s Jake Thompson, a state runner-up at 182 one year earlier who returned to state and won at 195 this time.

State runner-ups Dustin Norris of La Salle (106) and St. Xavier’s Jack Heyob (285) also were named first team in vote by league coaches.  GCL South teams turned in solid performances at the state meet, with La Salle completing a record0-breaking season with seven placers and a No. 4 finish in the final team standings, followed by Elder at No. 6, and Moeller at No. 12.  Byrd became just the second wrestler in La Salle history to win a state title, joining Neal Neyer – who won back in 1976 at 155 pounds.  It also was an incredible finish to an outstanding career for McCloud, who made it to last year’s state tournament but did not place.


(Weight Class, Name, School, Class)
106 pounds – Dustin Norris, La Salle, freshman (state runner-up)
113 – Lucas Byrd, La Salle, junior (state champion)
120 – Antoine Allen, La Salle, sophomore
126 – Casey Wiles, La Salle, freshman
132 – Jordan Ward, Moeller, junior
138 – E’lan Heard, La Salle, sophomore
145 – Chucky Lipps, Elder, senior
152 – Xavier Weathersby, Elder, senior
160 – Austin Murphy, Elder, senior
170 – Sam Wyche, Moeller, senior
182 – Blake Wilson, La Salle, senior
195 – Jake Thompson, Moeller, senior (state champion)
220 – Antonio McCloud, Elder, senior (state champion)
285 – Jack Heyob, St. Xavier, senior (state runner-up)

(Weight Class, Name, School, Class)
106 pounds – Willie Doepker, Elder, sophomore
113 – Dominic Pappalardo, Moeller, freshman
120 – Brayden Zenni, Moeller, freshman
126 – Jack Collins, Elder, sophomore
132 – Darnai Heard, La Salle, freshman
138 – Adam Klaserner, Elder, senior
145 – Vincent Scally, Moeller, sophomore
152 – Lucas Hankins, Moeller, sophomore
160 – Trey Sizemore, La Salle, junior
170 – Austin Belcher, Elder, junior
182 – Charles Sanders, Elder, senior
195 – Michael Baker, La Salle, junior
220 – Garrett Bledsoe, La Salle, junior
285 – Alec-Moore Nash, Elder, senior

Lucas Byrd, La Salle
Antonio McCloud, Elder
Jake Thompson, Moeller